Who Wants Cake?

jack phillips

In the past few years there have been more and more articles concerning homosexual marriages and the wedding industry. Recently there have been some articles regarding several different bakeries that have refused to makes cakes for same sex couples. 

The Case

One bakery in Colorado has received ample publicity surrounding their case. Masterpiece Cakeshop in Denver, stood on their Christian principles and denied an order from a gay couple. The co-owner of Masterpiece, Jack C. Phillips said that as firm Christian believers they would not serve their cakes at a gay ceremony.

The couple, Charlie Craig and David Mullins, were able to find another bakeshop willing to provide a cake for their celebration. However, Craig and Mullins filed a lawsuit against Phillips. A Colorado judge, Robert N. Spencer, ruled against Phillips’ assertion that the Constitution’s 1st and 14th amendments should guard him from the government trying to control how he practices his religion.

Phillips views his cake decorating as a form of artistic expression, he argued that the government edict that was put into effect was violating his freedom of expression. But the judge waived this argument, stating that a private business does not have the right to refuse service to whomever they choose.

Personal Stand

As a Christian in the same industry, I have been interested in these articles. When considering all of these instances, I am torn. I grew up in a conservative Christian home, with strong values that have been enforced and lived out by my parents. I believe that homosexuality is a sin, according to the Bible such as in Leviticus 20:13 and Deuteronomy 12:31. 

While I do believe that homosexuality is a sin, I began to consider what reaction would be to a situation like the one Phillip’s faced. God also teaches Christians to love those who fall short of his glory, for we are all sinners. The debate might concern how much love we are to give others, without supporting and even promoting their sins.

My conclusion is that, I would agree with Phillips in standing up for my right to practice my religious beliefs. While I would love and pray for a homosexual couple who approached Big Hat Events, I would feel that my beliefs take precedent. I would feel that it would compromising my own beliefs to support a homosexual couple in their union.

We stand firm in our beliefs, but also choose to love all individuals despite their decisions, recognizing that we all have sinned and are therefore unholy in the eyes of our Creator.

One thought on “Who Wants Cake?

  1. I would just like to suggest that perhaps the loving thing is not to condone or support someone in their sin, but rather point out that their sin places their soul(s) in eternal danger. I’m not suggesting that is what you were eluding to, but doing my best to offer a point of view that I think is often not considered.

    I would like to say I envy our Christian brothers and sisters undergoing this persecution, but I am not sure I would have the resolve or faith to withstand. I commend you for your stated stance and I pray (bullet prayer) that if so tested God grants you the faith to stand firm. The way to salvation is narrow, but the path to destruction is wide…it is encouraging to find someone still willing to consider the narrow path.

Leave a Reply

